Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 12/11/2007, 7pm – 10pm PST (0300 – 0600 12/12/2007 UTC)

justin

Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 12/11/2007, 7pm – 10pm PST (0300 – 0600 12/12/2007 UTC)

We will have a scheduled downtime window tonight from 7pm to 10pm PST. The following changes will take place:

* 7pm PST (0300 UTC) – Bugzilla cluster migration. We’ll be migrating our Bugzilla instance to a fault-tolerant cluster. 30 minutes or less of downtime is expected.
* 7:30pm PST (0330 UTC) – Kernel upgrades. We’ll be doing kernel security updates on various machines affecting the following services for approximately 10 minutes each:
- All developer and QA machines that are running RHEL (not CentOS)
* 7pm PST (0300 UTC) – Web application PHP 5 migration. We’ll be migrating the following apps to PHP 5. 10 minutes or less of downtime is expected for each of the following:
- blog.mozilla.org
- labs.mozilla.com
- pastebin.mozilla.org
- quality.mozilla.org

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with the planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window. Feel free to email infra at mozilla.com if you see issues past the planned downtime.

Thanks,
-Justin