Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 03/31/2009, 7pm – 11pm PDT (0200 – 0600 04/01/2009 UTC)

mrz

We will have a scheduled maintenance window tonight from 7:00pm to 11:00pm PDT. The following changes will take place:

  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) support.mozilla.com updates and database upgrade. We’ll be updating support.mozilla.com to pick up code updates (bug 485743) and moving the backend database to new hardware (bug 484891). Duration 30 minutes.
  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) chat-support.mozilla.com DNS change. We’ll be moving chat-support.mozilla.com to a different load balancer and will need to change DNS to do so (bug 484581). Users with a hard-coded IP address should switch to the hostname. No downtime expected.
  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) Deploy Internap Flow Control Platform. We’ll be flipping the switch on the FCP to allow it to make live routing decisions. No downtime expected.
  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) IRC server upgrades. We’ll be upgrading the IRC server daemon on our IRC servers this week. Tonight, gravel.mozilla.org will be upgraded. If you happen to be using a server that is taken down for an upgrade, as long as your client is using irc.mozilla.org for connecting, you will be automatically changed to the other server. No downtime expected
  • 8:00pm PDT (0300 UTC) DHCP infrastructure changes. We’ll be implementing an active/standby DHCP server setup which requires some reconfiguration on the current DHCP server. No downtime expected.

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly in those bugs if you see issues past the planned downtime.