Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 10/22/2009, 5pm – 8am PDT (0000 – 0300 10/23/2009 UTC)

justdave

We will have a scheduled maintenance window tonight from 5:00pm to  8:00pm PDT. The following changes will take place:

* 5:00pm PDT (0000 UTC) addons.mozilla.org database hardware upgrade. We’ll be adding additional RAM to the master database server for addons.mozilla.org. (bug 522112). Duration 30 minutes (although the site may stay down pending completion of the file moves, see below)

* 5:00pm PDT (0000 UTC) We’ll be taking advantage of the database outage to remap part of the back-end filesystem on addons.mozilla.org. (bug 517015).  Duration 90 minutes.

* 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) We’ll be making DNS changes to move the support.mozilla.org domain to our Zeus GLB servers. (bug 522923) No downtime expected.

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed  with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to  as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing  longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be  operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly if you see issues past the planned  downtime.