Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 05/13/2010, 4pm – 11pm PDT (2300 – 0600 UTC)

mrz

We will have a scheduled maintenance window tonight from 4:00pm to 11:00pm PDT. The following changes will take place:

  • 4:00pm PDT (2300 UTC) addons.mozilla.org update. We’ll be updating addons.mozilla.org to pick up code updates (bug 565141) . Duration 1 hour.
  • 7:00pm PST (0200 UTC) bugzilla.mozilla.org load balancer change. We’ll be moving bugzilla.mozilla.org behind the production Cisco ACE/Zeus ZXTM cluster (bug 547163). No downtime is expected.
  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) Website updates. We’ll be picking up small updates to the following websites:
  • 8:00pm PST (0200 UTC) ssh brute-force defense on svn.mozilla.org & hg.mozilla.org. We will be monitoring this but it may impact ssh-based connections. No downtime expected but please file bugs if you notice lingering issues.
  • 10:00pm PDT (0500 UTC) www.mozilla.com CDN DNS change. We’ll be turning on our PowerDNS-based CDN load balancer tonight. This will involve a CNAME change to mozcom-cdn.mozilla.net (bug 563769). No downtime expected.

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly if you see issues past the planned downtime.