Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 08/19/2010, 4pm PDT (2300 UTC)

justdave

We will have a scheduled maintenance window tonight from 4:00pm to 11:00pm PDT. The following changes will take place:

  • 4:00pm PDT (2300 UTC) support.mozilla.com update. We’ll be updating support.mozilla.com to pick up code updates (bug 587824) . Duration 60 minutes.
  • 6:00pm PDT (0100 UTC) Kernel upgrades. We’ll be doing kernel security updates on various machines affecting the following services for approximately 10 minutes each:
    • *.stage.mozilla.com staging websites
    • Mountain View office VPN server
    • people.mozilla.com
    • bugzilla.mozilla.org
    • developer.mozilla.org

    Some services may have more than one outage as various back-end components each get their upgrades (for example, a web application will go down once when the web servers are upgraded and again when its database server is upgraded).

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly if you see issues past the planned downtime.