Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 12/30/2008, 7pm – 11pm PST (0300 – 0700 12/31/2008 UTC)

reed

We’ll be taking advantage of the continued holiday lull and performing scheduled maintenance tonight from 7:00pm to 11:00pm PST. The following changes will take place:

  • 7:00pm PST (0300 UTC) duration 1 hour: Firmware upgrade. We’ll be upgrading the firmware of the machine that hosts tinderbox.mozilla.org and bonsai.mozilla.org.
  • 8:00pm PST (0400 UTC) duration 3 hours: RHEL5 upgrades. We’ll be doing some more RHEL5 upgrades on several machines. This will internally affect DHCP and DNS throughout the MPT network.
  • 9:00pm PST (0500 UTC) crash-stats.mozilla.com database maintenance. We’ll be copying the entire Breakpad database in order to set up a replication environment. No downtime is expected, however degraded performance is expected for several days while the database is copied.

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly in this blog if you see issues past the planned downtime.