Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 08/25/2009, 7pm – 11pm PDT (0200 – 0600 08/26/2009 UTC)

mrz

We will have a scheduled maintenance window tonight from 9:00pm to 11:00pm PDT. The following changes will take place:

  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) The Amsterdam Reboot. We’ll be turning down services in Amsterdam and pulling production traffic back to San Jose in preparation for The Amsterdam Reboot next week. No user facing downtime is expected.
  • 8:00pm PDT (0300 UTC) Layer42 BGP turnup. We’ll be turning up BGP peering with Layer42 and pushing production traffic through Layer42. No downtime expected.
  • 9:00pm PDT (0400 UTC) www.mozilla.org relaunch. We’ll be pushing out a new version of www.mozilla.org. See bug 510267 for details. Duration 30 minutes.
  • 9:00pm PDT (0400 UTC) PHP upgrade. We be upgrading PHP on addons.mozilla.org. See bug 506703 for details. No downtime expected.
  • 9:00pm PDT (0400 UTC) addons.mozilla.org EV SSL certificate deployment. We’ll be replacing the wild card certificate with a VeriSign EV SSL certificate tonight. No downtime expected.

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly if you see issues past the planned downtime.