Mozilla Scheduled Downtime – 05/06/2010, 4pm – 11pm PDT (2300 – 0600 UTC)

mrz

1

We will have a scheduled maintenance window tonight from 4:00pm to 11:00pm PDT. The following changes will take place:

  • 4:00pm PDT (2300 UTC) addons.mozilla.org update. We’ll be updating addons.mozilla.org to pick up code updates (bug 563435). Duration 60 minutes.
  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) support.mozilla.com update. We’ll be updating support.mozilla.com to pick up code updates (bug 563493) . Duration 60 minutes.
  • 7:00pm PDT (0200 UTC) Release Engineering maintenance. We’ll be handling a number of Release Engineering related tasks that will involve tree closure, including:
    • tinderbox / bonsai production swing, replacing tinderbox server hardware. Bug 546470.
    • Castro-San Jose / MPT VPN upgrade. We’re replacing the Netscreen SSG in San Jose with a Juniper SRX240 to better handle the VPN traffic from the build cluster in Castro. Bug 563968.
    • Regular try server repo reset

    Bug 563531 is tracking all the related work. Duration 3 hours.

  • 10:00pm PDT (0500 UTC) download.mozilla.org DNS change. We’ll be integrating download.mozilla.org into our GLB infrastructure to serve download requests out of both San Jose and Phoenix (active/active). No downtime expected.

Please let me know if you have any reason why we should not proceed with this planned maintenance. As always, we aim to keep downtime to as little as possible, but unexpected complications can arise causing longer downtime periods than expected. All systems should be operational by the end of the maintenance window.

Feel free to comment directly if you see issues past the planned downtime.

One response

  1. A reader wrote on :

    Right now it’s past 10:00pm PST, right?

    https://support.mozilla.com/en-US/forum/1/667291
    redirects me to
    http://status.mozilla.com/en-US/outages.html

    While it’s written:
    7:00pm PDT – 8:00pm PDT support.mozilla.com update.

    I wouldn’t distract you, if you haven’t written:
    Feel free to comment directly if you see issues past the planned downtime.

    I hope you will fix all bugs, even if it requires 24 hours. Just wanted you to know that support.mozilla.org isn’t yet fully working.