Categories: Press Releases

Mozilla Foundation announces beta release of XForms 1.0 Recommendation

February 2, 2005, (Mountain View, CA). The Mozilla Foundation today announced the beta release of the W3C’s XForms 1.0 Recommendation. XForms is the forms module standard developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), which enables developers to deliver the type of next-generation, rich, portable web-based applications desired by corporate IT.

Developed in collaboration with IBM, Novell, and the open source community, XForms technology is now available as an extension to the Mozilla 1.8 and Firefox 1.1 web browsers which are currently under development. This release is intended for users in non-production environments who are interested in exploring XForms 1.0 technology ahead of the extension’s general availability release later this year. The extension is available for Linux, Windows, and Macintosh platforms. Beta user feedback on this release is highly encouraged. Please consult the beta release notes for information on known limitations and how to provide beta feedback.

For download instructions, beta release notes, and to learn more about the project, please visit the project page at


Established in July 2003, the Mozilla Foundation is a non-profit organization hosting a collection of leading innovators whose mission is to preserve choice and innovation on the Internet. The Foundation provides organizational, legal, and financial support for the Mozilla open source software project. The Foundation is based in Mountain View, California and is the heir to the legacy and tradition of the Internet’s first widely used browser, Netscape. Learn more about the Mozilla Foundation at

Mozilla and the Mozilla logo are registered trademarks of the Mozilla Foundation. Novell is a registered trademark of Novell, Inc. in the United States and other countries. IBM is a registered trademark of International Business Machines Corporation in the United States and other countries. W3C is a trademark (registered in numerous countries) of the World Wide Web Consortium.