SUMO contributors meeting Monday Jan 12th

Cheng Wang

This Monday, Jan 12th, we’ve moved the regular SUMO meeting and are inviting all SUMO contributors to call in to discuss their thoughts on the SUMO project.  Volunteers, contributors and helpers are a vital part of the SUMO community and we wanted to make sure that there was time set aside some time to hear your views on what we as a community can do.  SUMO isn’t just for users of Firefox, it’s also our community.  Most importantly, this meeting is a chance to get together and bounce around ideas and thoughts about how to make SUMO even better.

The call is scheduled to go from 2 PM PST/5 PM EST/10 PM GMT  and last for about 90 minutes (although we’ll certainly keep it freeform and extend it if needed).  Here are some things that we are looking to cover:

  1. A quick wrapup of the past year: Knowledge base, Forums, Live Chat, Support Firefox Days.   What happened, (SUMO got started!) and what you felt went well/could have been done better.
  2. Goals for 2009.  What do you want to see from SUMO over the next year and what projects would you like to take a lead on?
  3. Firefox 3.1.  Mozilla Firefox 3.1 is being released soon and so SUMO will have to expand its coverage.  We’ll talk briefly about the major changes that users will be seeing and answer questions about what is happening on our end to prepare for it.
  4. Open discussion about SUMO (on whatever you want).

That’s all that we have planned.  If you’re interested in improving SUMO or working more in-depth in user support, this is the perfect place to get started.  If you can’t make this meeting or want to get even more involved, feel free to join us for any of our weekly meetings which are Mondays at 1 PM EST/10 AM PST.  (You’re always welcome to join!)

Phone call details (pick one):

  • California: 650-903-0800 then extension 92, conference number 280#
  • Toronto: 416-848-3114 then extension 92, conference number 280#
  • Toll-free (US): 800-707-2533 then password 369, conference number 280#
  • Skype (free): +18007072533 then password 369, conference number 280#

The backchannel (where we post links and share text) is #sumo on irc.mozilla.org

I hope to see you all there.

Cheng.

Note: We’ll be moving the start of LiveChat hours for Monday to after this meeting so there won’t be any conflict.